top of page

5 Must DO adventures in Mpumalanga


Photo Credit: Papierazzi.stationery

You might have heard of this little town, but if you have ever driven to Nelspruit you have certainly seen it. Now I must confess that I have wondered what lies beyond the turn to Waterval Boven but never bothered to turn in. Well I finally did and found my #1 Rock & Rope adventure...

In the capable hands of the Rock & Rope Crew, our 14 man strong group ventured into the unknown. Paired up, harnessed and ready to take the plunge. The view from the edge of the Cliff breathtaking, the beat of my pulse as loud as the thunder of the Waterfall. Reaching the bottom of the Cliff Rewarding. The life changing bit for me was the journey back up to the starting point. That is the secret behind this abseil and the moment that will forever hold it dear in your heart. A must for team building, couple adventures and the one who seeks new thrills and views.

Do you have faith? Well I discovered that its true that all one needs is the faith of a mustard seed to believe in the impossible: me scaling a cliff... that's right!

All this womanly goodness, rock climbing to the top of a cliff. I was hesitant, I doubted myself, until I saw this chilli bite of a woman make her way to the top. First time climber, she scaled it like a Rock star! I was so inspired I decided to make Rock climbing my #2.

Chilli doing her thing.

I started off strong, then I coined the term "cliff hugging" and as I tired out close to the top I allowed my body to sink into the Rock and just enjoy the aerial view from the top. The guy had mentioned it can be spiritual he was definitely onto something.

#3 eat the Chicken at the taxi rank!

When we arrived to a fully decorated table in the middle of what seemed like the town square. The guys hanging around the area were playing smooth jams and I found myself taking in the scenery and swaying to the music. What totally caught me off guard was the mind blowing grilled chicken that was served. I have had plenty chicken in my life and I tell you that chicken is the Best Ever!

So good ... there will be nothing left.

Visit induna adventures in Sabie, they have a wide variety of capers. I've always wanted to do white water rafting and that was the choice for the day. #4 In preparation for our extreme paddling we visited the Sabie Valley Coffee House across the road which was... Amazing.

From the cute begging pug, to the friendliest owners they had us in high spirits and ready for our thrilling escapade. The rafting required lots of team work and navigational skills whilst I summoned my inner Suri, I found relief in the soothing sound of the water. Try it out you won't regret it!

#5 Go find your Gold.

What a real gold-digger should look like.

Every one wants to strike it lucky, but instead of playing the lotto why not save your money and visit Pilgrims Rest instead. It's a historical town that still has activities such as Gold panning, historical walking tours and much more. Sifting for Gold has never been this much fun, gather friends book the activity and see who will get rich sifting. Visit http://www.pilgrimsrest.org.za/ for more information.

If you don't find gold at least send a postcard home.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page