top of page

Travel Tuesday: Finding my place of peace

Sometimes you just need to go to a place where you are not disturbed by life’s interruptions.

There 2 such places that I always choose to retreat to, both are hidden on the side of a hill with views that comfort the soul and exhilarate the heart. Here there is no noise, every sound is clear and it speaks of life; from birds chirping to the gurgle sound of water making its way to the top, this is where I choose to meet myself. It’s a trip I often invite no one too as it’s for me. It has nothing to do with the next adventure but everything to do with the essence of my being.

It wasn't always like this but life has a way of showing you who you are; the death of my close friend in the early 2000s left me distraught and with an ache so deep that I did not know how to heal myself. After weeks of weeping at any given time I realized that what I required was something no one else could give me, I needed time alone with myself. I gathered my little broken heart and made for Ixopo Buddhist retreat in KwaZulu Natal for a silent retreat.

Now anybody who knows me most probably has their eyebrows furrowed because I’m not one to give up a good conversation let alone do a silent retreat, in fact I really love talking to people, anyone really, yet through my heartbreak my life shifted gears from the external to the internal journey of life.

I chose to live in the dormitories where my chances of bumping into people were higher but having arrived during the week there very few people to be seen. Having explained myself to the admin lady, she offered me a chance to do a silent working retreat, I shared how much I loved gardening as I imagined myself potting around in Wellingtons in the beautiful vegetable garden. Instead I was showed a huge field almost the size of a Rugby field and told that there where baby trees in the metre long grass and I had to find them. Not one to shy away from a challenge I went in full force slaying the grass in search of the bebe trees.

It was only on the 3rdday that my silence was broken by my own screams when I thought I heard a snake making its way to attack me. I threw the slasher to the skies and went in the opposite direction screaming, the fact that is was a sharp tool that could have easily landed on my head was forgotten when I thought I was under attack. Besides almost killing myself let me take you through a somewhat visual experience of why I have chosen these 2 places as my place of refuge.

Its really as beautiful as it is described in Cry the Beloved Country - For those who have never read the book here is a little excerpt - "There is a lovely road that runs from Ixopo into the hills. These hills are grass-covered and rolling, and they are lovely beyond any singing of it. The road climbs seven miles into them, to Carisbrooke; and from there, if there is no mist, you look down on one of the fairest valleys of Africa. About you there is grass and bracken and you may hear the forlorn crying of the titihoya, one of the birds of the veld. Below you is the valley of the Umzimkulu, on its journey from the Drakensberg to the sea; and beyond and behind the river, great hill after great hill; and beyond and behind them, the mountains of Ingeli and East Griqualand."

In the garden this gigantic statue sits, smiling. I'm not Buddhist but there is so much that one can learn from such simplicity when you have forgotten what it feels like to smile.

It was here that I encountered Rumi for the first time during guided poetry meditation. I heard the words, but they went beyond my ears they spoke to my heart, I was in love.

The other thing that they do very well here is the Food. Its everything food should be, simple, fresh tasty and heart warming. from the bread to the cake the love flows through it all. My second place of peace is much closer to where I reside for sometimes you need to escape without having to request leave. Sediba Mountain retreat, it was here that I trained for my yoga teaching; it was here that I found my second home in Gauteng. I love this little place; this is where I come to think, rest, sleep and meditate. Created as a place where anyone can visit seeking return to the source of who they are through silence, a place to meditate and continue on your journey. I have met many people on different paths, I have heard, sat and listened to stories of those who have been beaten by life yet chosen to get up and try again. It is a special place for here there is no one to judge let alone offer their opinions.

A sunset like no other it's moments like this that I'm grateful for,

they remind me that there is something greater than myself.

That I am a speck in the greater scheme of things.

Just saying but you know its true.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page