top of page

Who said black woman aren’t adventurous?


-

I was woken up by a rustling in the roof, listening in; I realized it was home to some pigeons. Considering it was 4am in the morning I came to the conclusion that this little family lives on the principle that the early bird catches the fattest worm, because why would they be up at 4AM!?!

Whilst my thoughts blasted the worm, I found myself wide awake and restless. The deep sleep I had dived into was now just a distant dream. My thoughts soon turned to the adventure that lied ahead, abseiling off the longest single-drop abseil in the world. Unable to lie in bed any longer, I headed out to enjoy the sunrise. The sun peered through the trees greeting the river that snaked through the property. You could smell the mountains just like you can smell the ocean when you are at the seaside. My senses were alive taking everything in. I thought that by then I would have been feeling nervous or slightly edgy about the abseil but instead I was feeling calm beyond placid. I wanted to take everything in, slowly, silently and without worry.

7am finally arrived! We met our local guides who would be putting us through our paces. We began with our training; abseiling a 40m rock face in preparation for the 204m long abseil down the side of the waterfall.

The first and the last time I abseiled was in my teens, I can still remember the sinking feeling that filled my stomach the moment the guide (whom might I mention had asked me if I trust him) told me to step back… and there was nothing…nothing to catch me. That sheer disbelief of falling, with no control. For a second you cannot think of anything … then your senses kick in, your body springs into action and before you know it it’s all over and then you just want to do it again.

This time I was ready, I had an idea of what to expect easing any butterflies I might have had. The training was a breeze for my friend and I and an hour later we were done and on our way to the falls. The guide who was driving us to the falls was the first certified Eco- guide in Lesotho as he spoke about what his qualification meant to him, his voice beamed with pride that he, a guy from a village as small as Semonkong had managed to excel and be the first to succeed.

Arriving at the site we were taken to view the waterfall first, I swear this must be a scare tactic for those people who have height, water or falling phobias because immediately doubt set in amongst the group. Instead of participating in the conversation of uncertainty, I withdrew and just fell silent, I feared nothing, I trusted that the guys would do everything required to ensure my safety and the rest I couldn’t have been bothered about. I wanted no worry, no anxiety just the experience, after all how could I desire certainty when we live in uncertainty every day.

Sitting on a rock waiting for my turn I was totally blown away by the enormity and the majestic beauty of the Maluti Mountains, besides the angora goats and the shepherds who came to watch our fall, there was no one else.

My turn finally arrived and standing on the edge, a wave of excitement hit me. I leaned back, looked at the guy and stepped back.

The feeling is always mind blowing, my heartbeat turned up a notch, and I could feel my skin beating with it. I let out a huge Whoop, whoop! As the water sprayed my skin I opened my arms embracing the freedom, the magnificence that is nature.

All too soon I found myself at the bottom of the waterfall. I let out another shriek of delight! I wanted to sprawl out on the rocks and hug the waterfall and just stay in the moment for a second longer.

I had done it! I had abseiled 204m (670ft) down the Maletsunyane waterfall, 50 story’s of pure ecstasy. I looked up taking it all in, feeling victorious, the guide who was waiting for me gave me a high5, “you are one fearless woman” he said, “ you looked like you were having the time of your life up there.” As his words sank in I smiled even more after all Life favour’s the brave. As I finally walked away from my moment, I looked for my friend so we could share in each other’s triumph it’s not every day that one does something as exciting as this and to share that moment with someone else makes it that much sweeter.

Those who have seen my pictures often ask me would I do it again… My answer is the same every time. Yes in a heartbeat! visit http://www.placeofsmoke.co.ls/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=5&Itemid=8

if you would like to find out more about the activities available at Semonkong, I'm definitely going back for the donkey pub crawl!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page